The Migration Institute of Finland established the John Morton Award in 2010. John Morton (1725–1777) was a Pennsylvania-based politician of Finnish descent and one of the signatories of the United States Declaration of Independence.

The John Morton Award is awarded annually for meritorious work for the benefit of migration and multiculturalism. The work must be related to Finnish migration. The prize can be awarded to a person, organization, or authority.

The Board of the Migration Institute selects the recipient on the basis of proposals. Proposals can be made by Finnish and foreign individuals and entities. The Board may also select the awardee from among candidates other than those nominated. The recipient of the award and the justifications are announced at an event organized by the Institute.


2021: Genealogical Society of Finland

2020: Timo Aro

2019: Pirkko Pitkänen

2018: Peter Kivisto

2017: Eva Hohenthal

2016: Marja Tiilikainen

2015: Hülya “Hissu” Kytö

2014: Reino Kero, Olavi Koivukangas, Auvo Kostiainen, and Keijo Virtanen

2013: Markku Peura ja Erkki Vuonokari

2012: Carl V. Pellonpää

2011: Antti Välikangas

We award grants annually for migration research The Migration Institute of Finland manages three funds from where the profit is used to support Finnish migration research and documentation. The…
Read more
Here you can find the contact information of the Institute’s staff.
Read more